In short, it will take a minimum of 10 years for a driving under the influence (DUI) conviction to fall off your driving record. However, in some states, it can be as long as 15 years in Florida, and a DUI offender over the age of 15 will have to live into his or her 90s to see the offense come off his or her criminal record. In Tennessee, an offender can expect to retain a DUI conviction for life. While in the past, many states and auto insurance companies varied in terms of the duration that a DUI would remain with an offender, but now, each state requires a minimum 10-year duration for a DUI conviction to stay on an offender’s driving record.
However, even if you have been convicted of a DUI, you may be able to find post-conviction relief in several ways. For instance, if you work with an attorney, he or she can review your situation and determine whether the law enforcement officer acted in good faith by pulling you over, whether your rights were denied or violated in any way and whether you were treated with respect. In some cases, you may be able to overturn the conviction, and the judgement will appear as “not guilty.”
Still, it is important to understand that state rules involving DUI convictions will vary from state to state. In some areas, offenders are simply not allowed to lessen, change or reduce the effects of a DUI conviction. In these states, this type of negative mark on your driving record will remain there, and many feel that your money may be better spent elsewhere than wasted on an attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney, you can represent yourself, but you may stand a better chance of lessening your conviction if you have experienced legal counsel working on your behalf.
You can also consult your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to learn more about your DUI conviction and how it will affect your driver’s license in the long term. In addition, it is important to understand the difference between a DUI and a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction; the former can sometimes be reduced to the latter. In any case, you can expect your DUI to remain on your driving record for at least 10 years unless you seek legal counsel or decide to represent yourself in a lawsuit aimed to prove negligence or wrongdoing on behalf of law enforcement or other allegedly responsible entity.
Like this Article? Subscribe to Our Feed!
Author: Jay White
I started Dumb Little Man so great authors, writers and bloggers could share their life "hacks" and tips for success with everyone. I hope you find something you like!